Nothing Is Invisible

……….Cultural Kaleidoscopy………..

Child 44

Posted by the editors on Saturday, 13 August 2011

Child 44, a thriller by Tom Rob Smith

Child 44 (novel) (2008) by Tom Rob Smith     Child 44, Tom Rob Smith’s first novel and the first book of a trilogy (the second, The Secret Speech (2009), the third to be published in 2011) is an acclaimed thriller set in the late Stalinist era in the Soviet Union, based on the true story of Ukrainian serial killer Andrei Chikatilo, and also exploring the era’s secret police, mental institutions, orphanages and homosexuality, among other subjects.  Janet Maslin, in The New York Times, called Child 44 a “tightly woven”, “ingeniously plotted”, “high-voltage story”.  Child 44 was named on the long list for the 2008 Man Booker Prize.  (PR)

image: The Sunday Telegraph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: